Distilled alcohol is gluten free even if made with a gluten-containing grain. This is because the gluten protein cannot vaporize and does not pass through the distillation process. Distillation occurs in a large vat and during this process, the solid mass and alcohol separate. The alcohol goes on to evaporate and creates distilled liquor while the solid mass remains behind in the vat. The solid mass contains the gluten protein which does not evaporate; thus, the final distilled products have no gluten.
Copyright © 2021 WheatPool Soda. All Rights Reserved